Standing ovation for frauenkomponiert in Basel

In Conducting, frauenkomponiert by kat15jh

On 8 March 2015, Jessica Horsley’s conducting debut in the Basel Stadtcasino ended with an extended standing ovation – no common occurrence in Swiss concert halls. She conducted a pioneering programme of nineteenth- and twentieth-century works by women composers: “unprecedented orchestral sounds”. Orchestral works by women are practically never performed by established orchestras and given the audio-feast on offer here, one can only wonder why.


News-iii-2Louise Farrenc:
Symphony no. 3 in G minor(1849)
Sofia Gubaidulina:
Impromptu for Flute, Violin, and Strings (1996)
Fanny Hensel:
“Hero und Leander”: Dramatic Scene for a Singer with Orchestral Accompaniment (1832)
Ethel Smyth:
Serenade in D (1890)

Orchestra: L’anima giusta led by Jiří Nĕmeček
Soprano: Maya Boog
Flute: Isabelle Schnöller
Violin: Barbara Doll
Conductor: Jessica Horsley